Phone: +91-78077-36880 (Admissions Only)
Apply Now
Phone: +91-78077-36880 (Admissions Only)
Apply Now

Bishop Cotton School team rejoice win at 20th Cricket Contest, Shimla

The Major R.K. Von Goldstein Memorial Cricket Tournament

Bishop Cotton School (BCS) A-team has won the 20th Goldstein Cricket Trophy at the heritage campus in Shimla in a hard-fought battle against Yadavindra Public School, Patiala (YPS) Patiala.  Chief Guest at the event was Brigadier Rohit Dutta, Group Commander, HP who handed out the trophies.

In a thrilling final match between the two schools, Bishop Cotton School, Shimla (BCS) were chasing 197 that Yadavindra Public School, Patiala (YPS)  had scored – the game could have gone either way. But it was the hosts who finally won to the delight of the cheering school supporters. 

Interestingly, both schools were led at one time by the BCS-educated and legendary von Goldstein brothers. Lt Col F Von Goldstein led YPS from 1950-68 whilst Major R.K Von Goldstein was Headmaster of BCS from 1963-76.

The highs and lows of the battlefield saw budding young cricket champs show off their skills from some of India’s finest schools, full list below. Tournament dates: April 21-24th 2023.

Teams were up very early to play qualifying matches at dawn for the 20th Major R.K. Von Goldstein Cricket Tournament – the competition is named in honour of a former BCS Headmaster Major R.K. Von Goldstein. He was the only Cottonian to ever attend the school and go on to become Headmaster from 1963, a position he held until 1976.

The Cottonians will all be dreaming of becoming top cricketers like Old Cottonian Mayank Dagar (*Currently Sunrisers Hyderabad) who plays in the IPL – Mayank says of this cricket tournament “I got into the school team that same year and winning games for my school was best feeling especially the Goldstein tournament,  I was pumped up to win for school for BCS – and that’s where they saw my talent. I went on to play for the HP State team and got my break into the Under 19 World Cup team followed by IPL and Ranji Trophy.”

One of India’s oldest sporting rivalries was played out again as Bishop Cotton School, Shimla faced The Lawrence School, Sanawar, this fixture has been played for over 100 years, but the 2023 BCS A team won the match.

20th Major R.K. Von Goldstein Cricket Tournament participating teams;

***Winners*  Bishop Cotton School (BCS), Shimla (*A team)

***Runners UP: Yadavindra Public School (YPS), Patiala

·         The Lawrence School, Sanawar

·         Pinegrove School, Dharampur

·         Mayo College, Ajmer

·         La Martiniere College, Lucknow

·         Vasant Valley High School, New Delhi

Winning team on the first flat with the Goldstein Trophy together with coach Mr Lokpal and director of sports Mr Gurprit Singh

Leave a Reply